An Amazing Year Coming to a Close

Are you saddened by the end of the year?  I am.  As a regular teacher you get to touch the lives of roughly 30 kiddos if you are an elementary school teacher or roughly 100 kiddos if you are a middle or high school teacher.  I feel so honored that I have been able to bless the lives of hundreds of kiddos.  I feel incredibly fortunate that I was able to have shared my life with amazing students and teachers.  Some days were more difficult than others, but in the end I am grateful.  I took a 3-day-job last week, outside of my content area, with a group of 8th graders that I have had several times throughout the year and at first was wishing I hadn’t gone outside of my content area, but in the end I was glad I did.  I was able to say goodbye to a school, to students and to teachers, I love.  There have been times when I wondered if, as a sub, I am making any difference in the lives of students and teachers.  There have been times when I have felt like the “real” teacher, I so desperately wish to be, and there have been times  when I have felt like the “fake” teacher…the just a sub teacher.  This week I was blessed…I did feel like the “real” teacher when I walked into the classroom each day to receive these love notes.

     

Memorial day is a day about honoring those who have sacrificed their lives to serve our country.  I believe teachers are veterans too, as the classroom today is a war.  Thank you to all the teachers and the students whom have shared their lives with me this school year.  If I travel down this road again next year, I hope to branch my wings into other districts.

Dear Subs,

Although the school year is over, it is not for me.  I will continue to bring you great resources as I find them.  Until then, I wish you many blessings.

This entry was posted in Inspiring Story. Bookmark the permalink.