This I Believe, INC.

Thanksgiving for me marks the beginning of the holiday season, with gatherings of friends and family and the sharing of food and drink.  During the holiday season I often find myself making time to reflect on the beliefs that guide my life.  I hope you do as well and to encourage your students, they could write an “This I Believe”  essay.

Based on a 1950s radio program of the same name, Americans from all walks of life share their personal philosophies and core values that guide their daily lives in essays on any topic imaginable starting with the line “This I Believe.”  Dan Gediman, reviver of “This I Believe” in 2004 states, “The goal is not to persuade Americans to agree on the same beliefs. Rather, the hope is to encourage people to begin the much more difficult task of developing respect for beliefs different from their own.”  Do you wish to foster a respect for varying beliefs in your classroom.  You can with a “This I Believe” writing project.  The organization sports a special section on their website for educators with an entire curriculum designed for Middle School or High School students.  I hope you enjoy and have a very happy thanksgiving reflecting with friends and family.

This entry was posted in Classroom Resource, Lesson Plan, Teaching Resource and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.